I haven’t written a blog post in awhile. I’d post something cliché about perhaps what I’m up to nowadays, or how my life is going, but that’s a bit boring… don’t you think? Now, you may be thinking, “Oh, yeah, like having Danny talk about who he is, is going to be an especially exciting topic,” and to that I say that following: You don’t know me.

Intrigued? Probably not. However, if you’d like to know more about the man behind the computer screen, I suggest that you do read further.

I heard an interesting quote yesterday that goes something like this, “The loss of one person is a tragedy; the loss of a million is a statistic.”

In the case that I ever wind up being a statistic, people can look back and see just who I was.

Daniel Haskell.

That’s me, folks. A few people might recognize the name, but not many may know the person behind it.

As of October 3, 2009, I’m 19 years old. For most of my life, I’ve only had a small select group of friends, with a rather hefty number of associates. I’ve met plenty of people, but I’ve only befriended a few. If one was to look at my facebook page and see the number of friends I have is in the 50’s, the number of people who actually know me is around 5 or 6.

Let’s begin with the basics. I enjoy writing, as you could probably tell from finding this blog site. I don’t do it for educational purposes, I do it because after writing a few paragraphs that I’m proud of, I get a faint sense of arousal that another man might get from watching football, or perhaps when a fanatical shopper gets a hold of a credit card. After finishing writing, I lean back in my computer chair, skim through what I’ve wrote, fix some typos, all the while a smirk dancing across my face like a boy finding out what’s beneath the wrapping paper before actually opening the gift. Weird, right? It gets better.

In hand with writing, I obviously love reading. Third person fantasy books, if you please. I’ve read the entire “A Song of Ice and Fire” series, the “Mistborn” trilogy, “Name of the Wind”, a few warcraft, warhammer, and starcraft books. I can’t get enough reading. Give me a quiet room and a good book, and you’ve got me satisfied. Give me a shit book, though, and we’re probably going to have some words as to why you locked me in a room with a insult to all books ever written. Yes, if I don’t like it, then it’s a bad book, because my opinion is the most important. Dur.

I enjoy video games. “Video games are childish, though. Aren’t you a little too old for games?” No, YOU’RE A LITTLE TOO OLD. PERIOD! I’m a geek, what can I say? I was hooked on games ever since I was little. Barely able to read, I’d sit beside my mom and watch her with amazement and awe as she’d type what would seem a paragraph per second as she played a game called Gemstone, a MUD. [MUDs are basically MMOs but with text… just text] As I got older, I’d watch my mom get into games like Everquest. I’d play games on the computer like Warcraft and Starcraft, still in Elementary school. A gamer was born. Thank you mom. I’m a RPGer at heart. I love games in a fantasy medieval setting. I also love the occasional strategy game and first person shooter. Some might say I can be obsessive sometimes. I’d like to use the word devoted.

The few close people who know me know that I have a dark, cruel sense of humor that rarely sees the light of day when family is nearby. I love to joke around. I’d also like to think of myself as a loyal person to those who are my friends. Don’t mean to sound braggish, but I’m a pretty nice guy if you aren’t one of my close friends. Believe it or not, I’m a pretty caring individual. I’m not afraid of death, but what happens after it. I’m a believer, but I’m not sure in what.

Thank god for the label agnostic.

See what I did there?

